UNESCO and MWC Barcelona winners of the Xavier Tourism Awards-HTSI


Premios Xavier del Turismo HTSIUNESCO and MWC Barcelona are the winners of the 16th Edition of the Xavier Tourism Awards-HTSI granted by Ramon Llul University’s School of Tourism and Hotel Management Sant Ignasi (HTSI).

During the awards ceremony, held in Barcelona, John Hoffman, CEO of GSMA Ltd., received the professional category award in the name of MWC Barcelona, and Peter Debrine, Senior Project Officer at UNESCO of the World Heritage Nature, Sustainable Tourism and Outreach Unit received the institutional category award in the name of the UNESCO.

The awards jury, presided by Federico Mayor Zaragoza, former president of the UNESCO, has unanimously decided to grant this year the Xavier-HTSI Tourism Awards to the UNESCO, in recognition of the essential task carried out in the contribution of peace and security in the world through education, science, culture and communications; and to MWC Barcelona, in recognition  of the global event which brings together the world’s top companies and leaders in the mobile ecosystem to showcase innovative solutions that positively impact people across the globe.

Lluís Bassat, former president in Spain and Portugal of the Bassat Ogilvy Iberia group, read the merits for UNESCO and Jordi Hereu, former mayor of Barcelona, for MWC Barcelona.

Premios Xavier del Turismo HTSI

The ceremony was chaired by Federico Mayor Zaragoza, former Minister of Education and Science of Spain and former director of the UNESCO, with the participation of Jaime Oraá, president of the Association of Jesuit Universities in Spain (UNIJES); Lluís Comellas, vice-rector for Research and Innovation at the Ramon Llull University; Ricard Santomá, dean and director general of HTSI (Schoold of Tourism and Hospitality Management Sant Ignasi), and Eugeni Gay, president of the Xavier Foundation.

Xavier Tourism Awards: recognition of excellence in tourism and hospitality

Ramon Llul University’s School of Tourism and Hotel Management Sant Ignasi (HTSI), annually grants the Xavier Tourism Awards-HTSI to recognize persons and institutions that have reached high quotes of effectiveness, dedication and innovation. Since 2003, the School of Tourism and Hospitality Management has granted the Xavier Tourism Awards-HTSI to 26 personalities and institutions for their contribution to the improvement of the tourism sector, such as: the Erasmus programme, the ‘Camino de Santiago’, AENA, Ilunion Hotels, International Centre for Responsible Tourism, Barceló Hotels and Resorts, Joan Roca (Chef of ‘El Celler de Can Roca’), Majestic Hotel Group, or the ‘Sagrada Familia’ in Barcelona.

Request information

If you want to request information you can fill this form. One of our advisors will contact you in order to solve your doubts and offer you all the information that you need.

Full name*





I authorize you to send me commercial information regarding our courses, seminars and other activities by email.
I have read and accept the data protection policy